Childhood Abuse: Its Impact

https://pixabay.com/users/byrev-23277/

.
.
The impact of childhood abuse extends way beyond childhood.

Physically our brains are wired under duress, hypervigilance becomes a powerful tool for survival.

We spot danger before thought can intervene. To feel safe, we explore what could go wrong, before we venture out around people.

PTSD and depression will happen, sometimes immediately, sometimes decades later.

One huge flaw, we are attracted to the familiar, they seem to be attracted to us.

We become a couple with the male or female version of our abusive parent.

All of this is subconscious, at 72 I can now see the dysfunction.

Who am I, is a question we struggle to solve for the rest of our lives.

It is difficult to reconcile how the other parent did nothing to protect us.

A certain percentage of victims repeat the abuse as it can become generational.

For me, I tried to be the opposite of my abuser in every aspect of my life.
.
.

2 responses to this post.

  1. As we age and become less egocentric, it becomes an exploration of how the abuser impacted others in their realm. We weren’t able to process that when we were young. In a way it feels good to know it isn’t about us personally. 🙏🏻

  2. My much younger brothers, 12 and 14 years younger, have no idea how lucky they were, dad was 16 when his first born, me came into this world.

    When I was 10 he was only 26, I was alone being raised by a violent narcissist, who had his childhood ripped away.

    At 72 I now know the brutal bullshit he did to me.

    I am pissed but vacate that emotion and keep my power.

    It could of been one of my brothers, it was not personal, but the harm he did has lasted a lifetime

    He does not want to run into me if there is an after life

    Thanks Val, I value your insight

    You have a much kinder heart than mine

Leave a comment